Canadians among early winners at Emmys

Pop Goes The News — A handful of Canadians were winners on the first night of the Emmy Awards in Los Angeles on Saturday.

Matthew Rouleau of Montreal’s Rodeo FX was one of nine people awarded the Emmy for special visual effects in Game of Thrones. It is the third consecutive time he has won for his team’s work on the popular HBO series.

MORE: Canadians abound on Primetime Emmys nomination list

The Outstanding Special Visual Effects category was dominated this year by Canadian artists.

Game of Thrones beat out made-in-B.C. series The Man in the High Castle and its Vancouver-based nominees Curt Miller and Terry Hutcheson as well as Penny Dreadful and its Toronto-based VFX team (James Cooper, Bill Halliday, Sarah McMurdo, Mai-Ling Lee, Greg Astles, Ricardo Gomez, Matt Ralph, Alexandre Scott, and Kyle Yoneda).

Also in the category was Canadian co-production Vikings, which earned nominations for Toronto-based Dominic Remane, Bill Halliday, Michael Borrett, Paul Wishart, Ovidiu Cinazan, Jim Maxwell, Kieran McKay, Jeremy Dineen, and Tom Morrison.

MORE: Season premiere of Game of Thrones was very Canadian

The Emmy for Outstanding Visual Effects in a Supporting Role went to Sherlock: The Abominable Bride, beating out Toronto-based Hannibal nominees Anthony Paterson, Robert Crowther, Thomas Placket, Jay Stanners, Rob Tasker, Terence Krueger, and John Coldrick as well as Winson Lee, Rob Del Ciancio, Rob Greb, and Dominic Cheung, who worked on the miniseries 11.22.63.

The Emmy for sound editing for a limited series went to Alberta-shot Fargo and a team that includes Toronto’s Joe Bracciale, Robert Bertola, Paul Shikata, and John Elliot.

It was the second Emmy win for Bertola and Shikata, who won for Hitler: The Rise of Evil in 2003.

Fargo and The Man in the High Castle each won for cinematography, but the winners are not Canadian.

Not all Canadian nominees were victorious at Saturday’s ceremony.

Michael J. Fox and Molly Parker, nominated for their roles on The Good Wife and House of Cards respectively, came up empty along with Paul Shaffer, who was nominated in the Music Direction category for A Very Murray Christmas.

Nova Scotia-born sound designer Paula Fairfield, nominated as part of the Game of Thrones sound editing team, also lost. It was her eighth Emmy nomination (she won last year for Game of Thrones).

Fargo’s makeup team, including Canadians Gail Kennedy, Joanne Preece, Gunther Schetterer, Danielle Hanson, Chris Glimsdale, Judy Durbacz, Penny Thompson, Cindy Ferguson, and Tracy Murray failed to collect an Emmy.

Other homegrown Fargo losers included casting directors Jackie Lind and Stephanie Gorin, production designer Elisabeth Williams, and art director Shirley Inget.

Toronto-based Vikings team Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Dale Sheldrake, Steve Medeiros, Brennan Mercer, Yuri Gorbachow, Andy Malcolm, and Goro Koyama lost in the Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series category to Black Sails.

John Bartley — a New Zealander who calls Canada home — lost for his work as director of photography on the B.C.-made series Bates Motel.

Sunday night’s ceremony was a shut-out for Canadian nominees.

Ottawa-born Vice co-founder Shane Smith had three nominations and Toronto natives Samantha Bee, Graydon Carter, and Lorne Michaels had one each.

Halifax’s Ellen Page was up for one Emmy as an executive producer of her Vice series Gaycation.

A pair of Canadians are nominated for awards that will be handed out during the televised ceremony on Sept. 18: Regina-born Tatiana Maslany (for the Toronto-shot series Orphan Black) and B.C. native Thomas Middleditch (Silicon Valley).

This article has been updated since originally posted.